Getting charged with any type of DUI in Wyoming has serious consequences, but if aggravating circumstances are present at the time of your arrest, the penalties can be particularly severe. Do not attempt to deal with a DUI charge on your own. Without proper representation, what you believe to be a simple, misdemeanor offense can easily escalate into jail time and even felony charges.
The DUI defense team at Davis & Cannon, LLP, has been helping residents of Sheridan, Cheyenne, and Gillette for more than seven decades. If you have been charged with DUI or any other criminal offense, contact us today at (307) 672-7491 for a free and confidential consultation about your case.
What Makes a DUI “Aggravated” in Wyoming?
In Wyoming, a DUI is considered to be aggravated if it results in the serious bodily injury or death of another, or if the driver has a passenger under the age of 16 at the time of the incident. When serious injury or death occurs, the driver will likely be charged with a felony offense. An excessively-high BAC may also lead to charges for aggravated DUI.
Regardless of the circumstances of your case, if you have been charged with aggravated DUI, it is essential to contact an experienced Wyoming DUI defense attorney without delay. Having this type of conviction on your record can seriously damage your ability to get a job, housing, and loans for years into the future. It can even impact your child custody arrangement.
Penalties for DUI and Aggravated DUI in Wyoming
In Wyoming, as in the rest of the US, it is prohibited to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 percent or greater. The limits are even lower for commercial drivers and those under the age of 21.
Penalties for a first-time DUI offense in Wyoming may include up to six months in jail, fines of up to $750, a 90-day license suspension, and the installation of an ignition interlock device (IID).
If, however, your first-offense DUI is “aggravated,” penalties can include up to 10 years in jail, fines of up to $5,000, and a three-year suspension of your driver’s license. Things get even worse if your aggravated DUI is a second or subsequent offense.
How a Wyoming DUI Defense Attorney Can Help
If you are being charged with aggravated DUI in Wyoming, the first thing an experienced attorney will want to do is see if those charges can be reduced. In some cases, aggravated DUI charges can be reduced to standard DUI charges or even reckless driving.
If your constitutional rights were violated at any time during the arrest process, any associated evidence might be dismissed. The same might be true if the arresting officer(s) made an error during the arrest. If, for example, the breath test was faulty or the officer administering it made a mistake, your BAC results may be deemed invalid.
Contact Davis & Cannon, LLP Today
If you have been charged with any type of DUI, the skilled legal team at Davis & Cannon, LLP, can help. With offices in Sheridan, Cheyenne and Gillette, our experienced attorneys have been serving (central, southern, and northern) Wyoming for more than 70 years. We place immense value on fostering long-term relationships with our clients, and our experienced, dedicated team of lawyers has an impressive record of obtaining favorable results. If you are facing DUI charges, we can help. Contact Davis & Cannon, LLP today at (307) 672-7491 for a free and confidential consultation about your case.