Wyoming DUI Lawyer
Davis & Cannon, LLP aggressively defends criminal clients throughout the State of Wyoming. We have extensive criminal litigation experience at both the misdemeanor and felony level including DUIs, drug offenses, white collar crime, sexual assault, and homicide.
In Wyoming, if you are operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or greater, you are above the legal limit. It is a common misconception that a first-offense DUI is no big deal, but nothing could be further from the truth. Wyoming is tough on DUI. Even first-time offenders face up to six months in jail, fines, and a 90-day license suspension if convicted.
The criminal defense team at Davis & Cannon, LLP has been protecting the rights of individuals charged with crimes in Gillette, Cheyenne, Sheridan and all of Wyoming for more than 70 years.
We have successfully defended countless clients in DUI cases, and we want to help you. Contact us today at (307) 672-7491 for a free and confidential consultation about your case.
Why You Need a Lawyer for a DUI Charge
If you have been charged with DUI, you are likely worried about losing your license, paying fines, and the possibility of serving jail time.
First-offense DUIs come with some serious consequences, and penalties get significantly worse for second and subsequent offenses, as well as if any aggravating circumstances were present at the time of your arrest.
An experienced defense lawyer can help you determine your rights and options, and position you for the best possible outcome.
What a DUI Lawyer Can Do for You
In some cases, a plea bargain may be the best legal strategy. This is when your attorney negotiates with the prosecution for a lesser charge, such as reckless driving.
Similarly, an experienced DUI defense lawyer may be able to get your sentence reduced. For example, if you are facing charges for a second or subsequent offense, your attorney may be able to have your jail sentence reduced if you plead guilty.
Attempting to plea bargain or “sentence bargain” without legal counsel is rarely a good idea.
How to Defend a DUI Charge
It’s important to remember that even if you are being charged with a crime, you have rights. If those rights were violated during your arrest, any associated evidence may be up for dismissal. This is especially common during DUI arrests.
If the arresting officer did not have probable cause to stop your vehicle, your case may be dismissed. But even minor errors can negate incriminating evidence. If the breath test wasn’t properly calibrated, for example, your above-limit reading may be deemed inadmissible. An experienced DUI defense attorney will know how to look for mistakes and rights violations, and use them to your advantage.
Consequences of a DUI Charge in Wyoming
As with any criminal offense, penalties for DUI depend on multiple factors, including the circumstances of your arrest and whether you have prior criminal history. That being said, typical penalties for first, second, and subsequent offenses, and those for aggravated DUI, are as follows:
- First offense: Up to six months in jail, fines of up to $750, 90-day license suspension, and installation of ignition interlock device (IID) if your BAC is 0.15 percent or greater.
- Second offense: Up to six months in jail, fines of up to $750, one-year license suspension, and one-year installation of ignition interlock device (IID).
- Third offense: Up to six months in jail, fines of up to $3,000, three-year license suspension, and two-year installation of ignition interlock device (IID).
- Fourth offense: A fourth DUI within 10 years is a felony offense. You could be facing up to 7 years in prison and fines of up to $10,000, lengthy license suspension, and lifetime installation of ignition interlock device (IID)
- DUI with aggravating circumstances: If you were driving recklessly, had a child in the vehicle you may be charged with an aggravated DUI. Depending on the particulars, you could face felony charges and up to 20 years in prison. The most severe penalties are reserved for DUIs that result in the serious bodily injury or death of another.
Every DUI case is unique, and what seems like a simple, misdemeanor offense can quickly escalate into something more serious without competent legal representation. Wyoming is tough on DUI’s, and a conviction can negatively impact your ability to get housing, a job, and loans for years. Child custody arrangements can even be affected.
Fortunately, DUI charges can be reduced, but doing so requires a thorough understanding of this particular area of the law. Long story short—don’t make the mistake of trying to do it alone.
Contact Davis & Cannon, LLP Today
If you have been charged with any type of DUI, the skilled legal team at Davis & Cannon, LLP can help. We have been protecting the rights of Wyoming residents who have been charged with crimes for more than seven decades. Our experienced, knowledgeable lawyers have successfully defended countless clients against DUI charges. Whether this is your first offense and you were barely above the legal limit, or a felony DUI with aggravated circumstances, we can help. Don’t try to fight these charges on your own. Contact Davis & Cannon, LLP today at (307) 672-7491 for a free and confidential consultation about your case.
Read Our Criminal Defense Blog
More Criminal Defense Information
- Criminal Defense
- Drug Crimes
- Property Crimes
- Sexual Assault
- Theft Crimes
- Sex Crimes
- Assault / Battery/ Aggravated Assault
- Weapons and Firearms Offenses / Gun Crimes
- White Collar Crimes
- Wyoming Criminal Defense Lawyer
- Cheyenne Criminal Defense Lawyer
- Gillette Criminal Defense Lawyer
Don’t try to fight these charges on your own. Contact Davis & Cannon, LLP today at (307) 672-7491 for a free and confidential consultation about your case.