Davis & Cannon, LLP aggressively defends criminal clients throughout the State of Wyoming. We have extensive criminal litigation experience at both the misdemeanor and felony level including DUIs, drug offenses, white collar crime, sexual assault, and homicide.
The term “theft” applies to several different crimes, and these offenses are quite varied in severity and penalties.
In Wyoming, theft is defined as the act of knowingly taking control of another person’s property with the purpose of depriving the owner of that property.
If you are facing charges for any type of theft, it is in your best interest to contact a Wyoming criminal defense attorney without delay.
Theft crimes range from misdemeanor to felony offenses, but even charges for petty theft can be elevated when aggravating circumstances are present.
The experienced defense team at Davis & Cannon, LLP has more than 70 years of experience defending residents of Gillette, Cheyenne, Sheridan and all of Wyoming against criminal charge.
Contact us today at (307) 672-7491 for a free and confidential consultation about your case.
What to Do if You are Facing a Theft Charge
The penalties for theft depend largely on the type of theft, circumstances surrounding your case, and whether you have prior criminal history. In Wyoming, theft crimes include:
A conviction of any type of theft crime can negatively impact your ability to get employment, housing, and loans for years. It can also affect existing and future child custody arrangements. Whether you are facing petty theft charges with no criminal record or charges for grand theft auto, it is essential to work with an attorney who understands this particular area of the law. Contact a Wyoming defense lawyer today.
Why You Need a Lawyer for Your Theft Crime
In order to be found guilty of theft, the prosecution has to prove that you intended to commit the crime in question. An experienced defense lawyer will be able to find weaknesses in the prosecution’s case and use them to your advantage. If you are being charged with theft of a bike, for example, but can show that you only borrowed the bike, your attorney may be able to get the charges against you dropped. Arguing such a point, however, is rarely successful without the help of skilled defense lawyer who understands the way the prosecution thinks.
Furthermore, theft crimes frequently involve the gathering of extensive physical evidence, including video recordings, bank records, and computer logs. An experienced attorney will know how to collect and use this evidence to build a solid defense against your charges, and will advise you on whether it’s best to take a plea deal or go to trial.
Consequences of Being Charged with Theft in Wyoming
Depending on the type of theft crime you are being charged with, penalties can range from probation to 25 years in prison. Do not make the mistake of attempting to fight these charges on your own; the right lawyer can be the difference between a clean record and time behind bars. Penalties vary widely based on the particulars of your case, but the standard penalties for theft crimes in Wyoming include:
Theft: Petty theft occurs when the value of the theft is relatively low. If the property is valued at less than $1,000, the offense is a misdemeanor punishable by up to six months in jail and a fine of up to $750. If, however, the property is valued at $1,000 or more, theft is a felony offense punishable by up to 10 years in prison and fines of up to $10,000.
Burglary: The crime of burglary occurs when an individual enters a building or vehicle without authority and with the intent to commit theft or a felony. In Wyoming, the penalty for burglary is imprisonment of up to 10 years and fines of up to $10,000.
Robbery: The crime of robbery occurs when, during the commission of a theft crime, an individual causes bodily injury to another, or threatens another with bodily injury. Robbery is a felony offense with a penalty of up to 10 years in prison. If, however, the individual causes or attempts to cause serious bodily injury to another, or uses a deadly weapon, the charge will likely be elevated to aggravated robbery. The penalty for aggravated robbery is up to 25 years imprisonment.
Contact Davis & Cannon, LLP Today
If you have been charged with any type of theft crime, the skilled legal team at Davis & Cannon, LLP can help. we will remain by your side from start to finish. Our compassionate, knowledgeable legal team will review your case and ensure that you understand your rights and options before moving forward. Contact Davis & Cannon, LLP today at (307) 672-7491 for a free and confidential consultation about your case.